Congratulations to 2015 Columbia College-Lake County eScholarship awardee HM1 Antione Comer! He was one of 51 Columbia College students presented with the $1,000 award! With Antione in this photo are (from left to right) – Captain A.C. Newton, Christine Angel, Columbia College Academic Advisor, Comer, Jessica Stidham, Columbia College Academic Advisor and Captain Jim Hawkins, Commander, Naval Station Great Lakes.

The Columbia College online program recently announced the 51 recipients of the college’s eScholarship. The $1,000 awards were presented to students from around the country for the 2015-16 academic year.

“The generosity of our faculty, staff and other donors has allowed us to double the number of eScholarships presented to our students this year compared to last year,” said Rene Massey, associate dean for Adult Higher Education. “Students taking online courses make up the largest proportion of our enrollments, so we are glad to be able to assist so many each year.”

This year’s recipients included:

Name                                                    Home Town

Alyson Ady                                              Clearfield, Utah

Laura Ancell                                           Jefferson City, Missouri

Emily Barringer                                     Savannah, Georgia

Lorie Bousquet                                      Centralia, Missouri

Rubi Bueno                                             Herriman, Utah

Zachary Comella                                    Woodstock, Illinois

Antoine Comer                                       Round Lake, Illinois

Shelby Conrad                                        Richmond, Illinois

Deidre Davis                                           Groveland, Florida

Rachel Donhoff                                      Coos Bay, Oregon

Ariel Flary                                               Lindenhurst, Illinois

Rebecca Forbes                                      Burleson, Texas

Aron Gonzalez                                        Leesburg, Florida

Matthew Gooden                                   Tampa, Florida

William Groes                                         Las Vegas, Nevada

Melinda Hall                                           Dickson, Tennessee

Erin Heidecke                                         Hainesville, Illinois

Justin Hudson                                        Centerville, Utah

Michael Hurney                                      Lebanon, Missouri

Joshua Jordan                                        Cuba, Missouri

Brooke Krippendorf                              Stockton, Illinois

Saba Kulsum                                           Irving, Texas

Cortni Livengood                                    Iberia, Missouri

Katie Marley                                            Columbia, Missouri

Martha McGrath                                    Fulton, Missouri

Barbara Meaders                                    Reidsville, Georgia

Lindsay Meyer                                        Wright City, Missouri

Jesus Mora                                              Phoenix, Arizona

Ryan Nehlen                                           Canton, Ohio

Charlie Newton                                      Orlando, Florida

Allysondra Osborne                              Jacksonville, Florida

Alison Parthey                                       Long Beach, New York

Lakeysha Pempilton                             Freeport, Illinois

Michael Rodenberg                              Independence, Missouri

Jamie Salas                                            Jefferson City, Missouri

Danielle Schrader                                 Bella Vista, Arkansas

Rachel Smith                                          Columbia, Missouri

Molly Sowers                                         Syracuse, New York

David St. Luce                                       Round Lake, Illinois

Ginna Stauble                                       Coconut Creek, Florida

Rhonda Steffek                                     Jber, Alaska

Pam Stephens                                       Linn, Missouri

Michael Stephens                                Kingwood, Texas

Virginia Sumner                                  Denver, Colorado

Lyndella Talamanco                           Brooklyn, New York

Thomas Torgerson                             Groton, Connecticut

Mark Ugi                                              California, Maryland

Tammy Vega                                       Fort Stewart, Georgia

Jason White                                        Ft. Wainwright, Alaska

Destini Woods                                   Auxvasse, Missouri

Eric Wright                                        Hallsville, Missouri

The scholarship is non-renewable and applies to tuition, books and fees. This is the fourth year the scholarship was open to adult education students who have taken online courses. To be eligible for the eScholarship, students were required to:

  • Be an undergraduate degree-seeking student
  • Be a student from Online, Evening or one of the Nationwide campuses
  • Have a minimum of  21 hours of online coursework with Columbia College with at least nine of those hours taken during the last academic year
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 with Columbia College
  • Complete an application and answer short essay questions

Congratulations to the scholarship winners!

Those interested in giving to the eScholarship may make a gift securely online at