FINAL_WestlingScholarship_GraphicCongratulations to the following students who were recently awarded a $750 scholarship from Columbia College in honor of Frank S. Westling. Westling was a highly decorated infantry officer and former dean of the college’s Extended Studies Division, now Adult Higher Education.


Name                                      Home Campus                        Hometown

Jessica Morton                        Coast Guard Island                      Petaluma, California

Taiwo Pena-Hornung             Coast Guard Island                     Union City, California

Kialisha Beveridege                Crystal Lake                                  Lake in the Hills, Illinois

Deborah Ropinski                   Crystal Lake                                  McHenry, Illinois

Nathan Blinder                        Denver                                           Aurora, Colorado

Bruna Cardoso                         Elgin                                              Hanover Park, Illinois

Angelica Smith                        Fort Drum                                    Watertown, New York

Brook Krippendorf                 Freeport                                        Stockton, Illinois

Erik Sandstrom                       Freeport                                        Freeport, Illinois

Harrison Zamudio                  NAS Jacksonville                        Jacksonville, Florida

Lily Barham                              Online                                          Randelman, North Carolina

Matthew Albert                       Online                                           Tampa, Florida

Joshua Boze                             Lake of the Ozarks                     Abilene, Kansas

Suzanna Embry                       Rolla                                             Cuba, Missouri

Halston Heck                           Rolla                                             Rolla, Missouri

Grace Mosher                          Rolla                                             Rolla, Missouri

Rubi Bueno                              Salt Lake City                             Herriman, Utah

Laura Becker                           San Luis Obispo                         Nipomo, California

Thomas Lawlor                       San Luis Obispo                        Atascadero, California


To qualify for the Westling award, the recipients had to meet these requirements:

  • Be an Online, Evening or Nationwide Campus student pursuing a degree with Columbia College
  • Have attended Columbia College during the 2014-15 academic year (scholarship applies to the 2015-2016 academic year)
  • Have a minimum GPA of 3.0
  • Have at least 15 credit hours with Columbia College
  • Provide evidence of leadership and service to their community, school or country
  • Write a 400-500-word essay about their achievements and career goals


For the 2015-2016 academic year, Columbia College awarded Westling scholarships to 20 students from 12 campus locations. The scholarship is non-renewable and awarded to new students each year.

Those interested in giving to the Westling Scholarship may make a gift securely online at