BMR_photoMore than 100 people filled Dorsey Gym at Columbia College for the third-annual Black Men Rock ceremony on Saturday to honor Keondre Harrison, Joe Collier, Lloyd Henry Jr., Bill Thompson, Clyde Ruffin, Kentrell Minton, Sherman Brown and in a surprise announcement, Interim UM System President Michael Middleton. The recipients didn’t give speeches, but they spoke in videos in between award presentations that detailed their work, their goals and their inspirations. Dr. Jeff Musgrove, vice president for Adult Higher Education for Columbia College provided the welcome for the event.

“Black Men Rock Awards puts spotlight on Columbia’s role models”– Columbia Missourian

“’Black Men Rock’ honors advocates, community leaders” – Columbia Daily Tribune

“Seven to be honored at Black Men Rock Awards on Saturday” – Columbia Missourian