Dr. Scott Dalrymple

The Missouri Department of Higher Education recently announced that Dr. Scott Dalrymple, president of Columbia College, has been appointed to serve as chair of the Presidential Advisory Committee (PAC) and Dr. Carlos Vargas, President of Southeast Missouri State University, has been selected to serve as vice chair. The PAC’s role is to advise the Coordinating Board for Higher Education (CBHE) of the views of the institutions on matters within the purview of the coordinating board.

“We are pleased to welcome Dr. Dalrymple and Dr. Vargas to the PAC leadership. The PAC is vital in helping to shape important higher education decisions to benefit all students across Missouri,” Doug Kennedy, CBHE chair said.

The chair and vice chair will serve for the 2018-2020 term, representing the PAC in communication with the coordinating board. However, all PAC members are invited to participate in the regular public meetings of the CBHE.

Per Missouri statute, the Presidential Advisory Committee consists of 32 members – the president or other chief administrative officer of each of the public four-year colleges and universities; the president of State Technical College of Missouri; the president or chancellor of each community college; and representatives of five accredited private institutions selected biennially, under the supervision of the coordinating board, by the presidents of all of the state’s privately supported institutions. The PAC is always to include at least one representative from one privately supported community college, one privately supported four-year college, and one privately supported university.