Columbia College students, faculty and staff honored student leaders for their contributions on and off campus this school year during the annual Night of Recognition hosted by Student Affairs on Tuesday, April 16, inside the New Hall Event Center.

Eleven awards were presented to exemplary students, faculty and staff who have made a lasting impact on the student experience at CC.

“The one constant that remains at Columbia College is that each year we enroll students who take up the mantle of leadership to create an inclusive, engaged, and supportive campus community,” says Dean of Students Dr. Dave Roberts. “The Night of Recognition is our opportunity to recognize the leadership and service of our amazing students.”

Congratulations to all of the honorees at the 2024 Columbia College Night of Recognition!

Click here to view a full photo gallery from the event.

A breakdown of each award and its respective nominees and winners is below:

*bold denotes award winner

Inclusion and Advocacy Award

  • The Inclusion and Advocacy Award honors a CC student who actively promotes the values of diversity and inclusion at Columbia College and makes students feel safe, respected, and valued.
    • Joey Senevey
    • Travis Hudson (winner)

Student Organization Advisor of the Year

  • The Advisor of the Year Award is awarded to an organization advisor who demonstrates outstanding commitment and dedication to advising their student group. 
    • Dr. Yihsiang Liow
    • Theresa Veit – CC Student Nurses Association (winner)

Service Project of the Year Award

  • The Service Project of the Year recognizes the commitment of an organization or group of students who work together to provide service to their community.
    • Columbia College Student Nurses Association
    • Science & Pre-Health Club (winner)

Program or Event of the Year

  • This award recognizes a group of students who developed and sponsored a program or event that has enriched the academic and co-curricular lives of Columbia College students.   
    • Forensic Science Club Haunted House (winner)
    • Be You Ball
    • Stop the Bleed Training
    • Madden Tournament/ RA Floor Program
    • Color Run
    • Battle of the Halls
    • We Won’t Go Breaking Your Heart/ RA Floor Program

Organization of the Year

  • This award is in recognition of a student organization that has excelled through membership, leadership, participation, and has made a consistent contribution to student life at Columbia College.
    • Computer Science Club
    • Forensic Science Club
    • Social Science Club
    • Student Nurse Association (SNA) (winner)
    • Teach Club

Emerging Leader Award

  • This award recognizes a student who is an up-and-coming leader on campus as demonstrated through their scholarship, leadership, involvement, and service to Columbia College.
    • Kiana Hodges    
    • Xavier Hoos (winner)    
    • Myah Vincent   
    • Cameron Elder
    • Riley Wassilak
    • Emma Winchester
    • Prisca Akonkwa
    • Desirae R. McCracken
    • Marissa Sipe
    • Zayn Duncan
    • Jack March
    • Tirzah Dodorico

High Impact Award

  • The High Impact Award recognizes a student who has made an impact and is an established leader within the CC community as demonstrated through their scholarship, leadership, involvement, and service. This student should be beyond their first-year standing, not excluding transfer students. This award recognizes the commitment and achievement the student has made while recognizing their potential to continue to make a positive contribution to CC.
    • Brooke Pesek
    • Hannah Koenigsfeld
    • Emily Cote
    • Emily Nunan (winner)
    • Drela Heidelberg
    • Katie Vogel
    • Marlon Allen
    • Samantha Strohschein  
    • Emma Minton

Cultivating Community Award

  • The Cultivating Community Award is awarded to a current RA, FYM, or TRiO SSS Mentor who goes above and beyond, supporting and celebrating students as they successfully navigate their college journey.
    • Emily Cote                         
    • Delany Moser                   
    • Drew Higginbotham
    • Emily Nunan     
    • Glory Nkwocha                
    • Katie Bolingbroke           
    • Megan Upham 
    • Bree West          
    • Emma Minton (winner)
    • Hannah Koenigsfeld

Friend of Student Affairs

  • This award recognizes faculty, staff, or departments who went above and beyond in their support of the division of Student Affairs staff and Columbia College students.
    • David Heffer and Campus Safety
    • Jason Ballance
    • Plant and Facilities
    • Gretchen Hendrickson
    • Ebony Teeter and Katelynn Case (winners)
    • Jennifer Gravley
    • Grace Fear
    • Shari Lawson
    • Malcolm McPherson
    • Rachel Rist
    • Jacob Martin

Faye Burchard Vibrancy Award

  • The nominees for this award demonstrate their affinity for CC through their engagement on campus and by sharing their enthusiasm with everyone they know.
    • Lina Snyder
    • Emily Nunan
    • Emily Cote (winner)

The Rogers Gate Award

  • The Rogers Gate Award was created to honor Joseph Kirtley Rogers, third president of Christian College, who was a pillar of education in the Columbia community. This award honors a senior who has distinguished themselves as an outstanding CC citizen throughout their collegiate career. 
    • Jed Graham
    • Hannah Koenigsfeld
    • Dogukan Kara
    • Kaylee Brown (winner)
    • Tana Mistler